Atlanta Greek Festival October 2009

I had a quick trip to Atlanta again to see my cousin Cassie, Great Aunt Becky and the rest of my Greek family.  The festival was awesome, as usual, with the one exception that my cousin Christopher was missing from the performances. He’s moved to California, and Atlanta just isn’t the same without him. The festival is a celebration of Greek food, traditional Greek dances and Greek music. Here are some of my favorite photos from the event.

Walter partaking of his first Souvlaki.

IMG_3844

Cassie in a Rhodes costume.

IMG_4232

These are costumes that I did for the dance group last year, from the area of Rhodes. They call them costumes, but they are really the traditional dress of a particular area in Greece. Each area has several costumes and several dances.

IMG_4189 copy

Cassie in another costume.

IMG_3876

Cassie and Walter before the Zorba.

IMG_4037 bw

More of my Rhodes costumes.

_DSC0147

_DSC0149

_DSC0165

The fabulous musicians.

_DSC0205

Walter and Dimitri.

IMG_4236

And just in case you are wondering, no, I’m not really Greek. But I was given an honorary Greek name: Lawopolous. Sometimes they change your name when you get off the boat in the America’s.

2 thoughts on “Atlanta Greek Festival October 2009

  1. Hi Jessica,
    I logged on to a web site on Rhodes costumes and found your site. I belong to the Greek Orthodox church of Sts. Peter & Paul in Kitchener, Ontario. Our dance group of young people are needing costumes and they decided on the Rhodes one. I am a seamstress but not a pattern maker. Did you use a pattern and if so where did you come by it. I would love to be able to make these costumes for the children of our church. If you can help me out with some diorection I would appreciate it.

    I looked at the site and they are right on and you did an beautiful job .

    • Helen,
      Thanks! All of my Greek costumes are custom patterned from existing, authentic costumes or made off of measurents and guidelines in the book, The Greek Folk Costume by Angeliki Hatzimichali, with the Benaki Museum and MELISSA publishing, printed in Greece. (It’s out of print, sadly.) I am certainly no expert on the subject, but I do enjoy doing the research and had a lot of guidance from several instructors for the Atlanta dance group. Best of luck to you!
      Jessica

Leave a Reply

